Home   About   News   Fixtures   Adult Men   Ladies   Underage   Scór   Galleries   Contact   Downloads   Coaching Corner   Font+ | Font-

Latest News

Club Notes 25/2/2013


ACFL Division 3: Mullingar Shamrocks 1.11 v Tyrrellspass 1.06

Shamrocks opened their Div 3 campaign with a convincing win over Tyrrellspass on Saturday afternoon. In the opening minutes Shamrocks enjoyed good possession with Garry Corroon getting his first point in five minutes. Dermot Curley was getting on a lot of ball and scored a minute later. Tyrrellspass missed two easy frees and by the 15th  minute, Shamrocks had added three superb points. Two points from Dylan McDermott, one a free, and a free by Garry Corroon left Shamrocks well in control. Enjoying supremacy at midfield Shamrocks maintained their pressure and were unlucky to see a shot come off the crossbar. However, this was followed by  the best move of the day, a side line kick from Eddie Moore was swept up field and resulted in Sean Maguire scoring a brilliant point. Tyrrellspass raised their game and kicked their opening score on 20 minutes. Only an outstanding save from Philly Shaw denied a certain goal  before the referee blew for half time. Shamrocks continued their domination with Conor Twomey scoring a well taken point. After Dermot Curley scored another point , Garry Corroon was on hand from a tap down by Daniel Crowley and finished to the net. Tyrrellspass never let up and popped over a free on 15 minutes. On 19 minutes Tyrrellspass missed a penalty, but made amends three minutes later with a well taken goal. Over the final ten minutes of the game points were shared between the sides, Shamrocks having emptied their bench in the final quarter. This was a good start to the league and players are to be commended for their efforts after the festivities of the night before.

Team: Philly Shaw, Calvin Kirwin, Eddie Moore, Paul Christie, Paddy Joyce, Keith Moore, Davy Coyne, Conor Twomey, Anthony Clinton, Dylan McDermott, Dermot Curley, Sean Maguire, Garry Corroon, John Ganley, Dean Moore. Subs used, Nathan Smith, Kyle Maguire, Niall Kevin, Ryan Blundell, Daniel Crowley.



Reunion Dinner Dance:

A fantastic night was had by all last Friday in the Greville Arms to honor the achievements of our 2012 Senior championship winning side. It was also an opportunity to acknowledge our heroes of the 1986/87 winning teams. A huge gathering of Mullingar Shamrocks players (past & present), supporters and members met togged out in their finery to celebrate the clubs achievements. RTE’s Eamon Horan kicked off proceedings by welcoming the 1986/87 and 2012 panels into the ballroom to huge applause from the crowd. Once everyone had finished their meal Eamon took to the microphone again to introduce our championship winners. The 1986/87 Westmeath chairman Seamus Whelan and Club chairman Sean Dempsey were on hand to present the former stars & their management team with a memento of their great achievement. Next up our 2012 winning side were presented with their county medals by none other than Kerry legend Mick O’Dwyer. Micko had some very kind words to say to the lads and also to the all the young Shamrock stars of the future.

If there wasn’t already enough celebrities present, special guest and former Mullingar Shamrocks midfielder Bressie shared his memories of playing in the green & white. He also presented special awards Senior & Young player of the year to our ladies footballers. Highlights of the 1986/87 and 2012 finals were shown to everyone on the big screen, which brought plenty of laughs and fantastic memories back to everyone. Once all the formalities were over it was time to take to the dance floor and let loose until the early hours. Good Man Sheila provided the entertainment.  

Special awards presented on the night; Senior Player of the Year: Ciaran Curley, Young Player of the Year: Killian Daly, Senior Ladies Player of the Year: Lorna Morris, Young Ladies Player of the Year: Michelle Buckley, Hall of Fame: Michael ‘Spike’ Fagan, Clubperson of the Year: Pearse Corroon, Special Award given to Barry Kelly for his achievements at top level Intercounty Refereeing.   

We would like to thank the following people for making Friday such a great night for all who attended; Richie O’Donoghue, Pearse Corroon, Tom Hunt, Ray Twomey, Tom Ormbsy, Mickey Reilly, Pasty Fagan, Robbie Harrison, Lisa Burke, Aine Melody, Aoibhinn Byrne, Carole Finch, Kevin McCormack and a special thank you to Paul Aherne for putting together highlights of the 1986/87 and 2012 matches. They made for some great memories. These highlights are now on our website at www.mullingarshamrocks.com/gallery


Upcoming Fixtures:

Ladies Senior League Div1: Mullingar Shamrocks v Milltown, Sunday 3rd March 11.30am, Harbour Field.

U14 Div 1A / Rd 1: Mullingar Shamrocks v St.Lomans, Saturday 2nd March, 12.30pm, Springfield.

Minor Div 2 / Rd 2: Mullingar Shamrocks v Garrycastle, Sunday 3rd March, 11.00pm, Garrycastle.


Ladies Underage:

We would like to congratulate the following girls on making the Westmeath panels for 2013; Michelle Morris (U14), Laura Whitelaw, Rachel Hannigan, Livetah Lazauskaite (all U16) and Michelle Buckley, Siobhan Kiernan (Minor).  


Bingo takes place every Thursday night at 8.30 p.m. at Springfield.

Bookings can be made by contacting Davy Gavin 0876793523 or any member.

First   <<  32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41  >> Last

News Archive